European Power Exchange to extend its services to other European regions

The European Power Exchange EPEX SPOT has been designated by the national regulatory authorities in the EU members states Germany, France, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Austria and Luxembourg as Nominated Electricity Market Operator (NEMO). The EU Regulation establishing a guideline on Capacity Allocation and Congestion Management (CACM), in force since 14 August 2015, obliges all EU member states to officially designate an Electricity Market Operator for the Day-Ahead and Intraday markets within four months. Its objective is to promote effective competition in the generation, trading and supply of electricity, to ensure the optimal use of the transmission system while respecting the need for a fair and orderly market and price formation. The decision by the Belgian national authority to designate a NEMO is expected soon. Switzerland, also covered by EPEX SPOT but not being part of the European Union, has not implemented the EU Regulation for the time being. ….


Auteur: Redactie

Reageren op dit artikel is niet mogelijk.